Up Next

Market-Based Solutions to Vital Economic Issues


Accelerating progress in social and environmental sustainability
News & Media

2021 Invest for Impact Competition

On April 9, 2021 30 MBA students from around the world competed in the 15th annual Invest for Impact competition organized by the Net Impact Club at UNC Kenan-Flagler. Hosted for the first time in a virtual format, the students acted as venture capitalists, interviewing entrepreneurs whose businesses have a social impact focus, conducting due diligence, and preparing a term sheet. They then pitched their investment proposals to a team of 4 judges composed of expert VCs.

Entrepreneurs Michael Freyer of oveRNight RN and Iris Guo of Neutrify pitched their businesses to the six student teams and then fielded questions to help the students prepare their term sheets. Students modeled their teams as impact investors, evaluating the businesses not only from a financial perspective but also with an eye towards creating a positive social impact.

With support from event sponsor Quantum Advisors, the winning team, 3062 Impact Investors from Rotterdam Business School took home the top prize of $4,000. Second place and a prize of $2,000 went to Impactly, the team from Chicago Booth Business School. The entrepreneur’s choice award went to BD Capital, the team from Duke.

We would like to extend a huge word of thanks to judges Grant Kaley, Parker Wilson, Hanif Omar, Phil Vaynshetyn for making this event possible.


Grant Kaley – BLDG25
Parker Wilson – Sparked Consulting
Hanif Omar – Innovation and Entrepreneurship Center at Shaw University
Phil Vaynshetyn – Quiver Consulting


UNC Kenan-Flagler (New Earth):
Maitri Ramaiya
Jyotika Keswani
Calleigh Zhang
Alex Coclanis
Drew Krogulecki

Duke Fuqua (BD Capital):
Alex Serwer
Benjamin Sain
Reem Anani
Xuebing (Ross) Feng
Erica Gendell

Bard College (Mission Investments):
Alex Rehbinder
Erika Bruce
Sam Loeb
Melanie Rua
Anna Pollock

Rotterdam School of Management (3062 Impact Investors):
Ananth Sai Reddy Eragam
Simon Andres Abello Llanos
Johannes Radnitz
Navita Moodley
Georgios Lampridis

Boston University Questrom (La Femme Advisors):
Alyssa Gutner-Davis
Kim van Boden
Rachel Hadley
Rachel Goldberg
Maggie Strasbaugh

Chicago Booth (Impactly):
Malia Xie
Mabel Shiu
Stephanie Regimbal
Jacquelyn Christensen
Chloe Fu


Michael Freyer – oveRNight RN
Iris Guo – Neutrify

You may also be interested in: